# Minutes of the Meeting of 20 April 2001

### Faculty Senate 2000-2001

### Full Assembly: Friday, 20 April 2001

Attending: Thomas Andrews, Nancy Artus, Lynn Carson, Darla Coffey-Spence, George Drake, Paul Emmons, Frank Fry, Peter Glidden, Felix Goodson, Cynthia Haggard, Yoko Hashimoto-Sinclair, Allan Hill, Dierdre Johnson (proxy for Robin Garrett), Karen Gedge (Proxy for Lisa Kirschenbaum, Cheryl Krasowski, Peter Loedel, Judith Ray (proxy for Sheri Melton), Elena Stuart, Maria Van Liew, Stefani Yorges (proxy for Vanessa Johnson, Deanne Bonifazi, and Arvid Bloom), Naijian Zhange (proxy for Paul Morgan). Naijian Zhang

Call to order: Meeting was called to order circa 3:30 p.m.

**Approval of minutes:** The minutes from the 3/15/01 meeting were approved.

#### **Announcements:**

- Robert Madio sends his thanks for the card we sent for the new baby.
- The Senate will be conducting elections for the CAS Dean Search Committee.
- The Senate will also be conducting elections for the Professional Development Committee
- The Senate thanks Cliff Johnston for his assistance with our elections via the APSCUF Web-based voting system.

#### **Committee Reports**

• Curriculum and Research

Peter Loedel reported for Paul Smith on the convergence report.

• Space Issues Task Force

Fexlix Goodson reported on the space issues task force. Classroom usage rates run about 80 percent during the day and 50 per cent during the evening. Proposed the creation of a survey of faculty needs possibly combined with media needs. Some issus may be addressed in the strategic plan.

Graduate Programs

Nancy Artus reported on funding attributes for graduate programs. The number of graduate students enrolled and actively taking courses in degree programs. Looked at time and cost to teach courses. Martha Potvin suggested collecting data including GSR (thesis) students and Non-degree students.

• Ethics and Student Welfare

George Drake reported that an instrument has been developed to collect data about inappropriate student-faculty interaction

• Faculty Welfare

Cynthia Haggard and Maria Van Liew addressed tech support and computer support. In the distributive leadership model it becomes a dean issue. Departments may need to share equipment.

• Elections

New members introduced: Evan Leach, Charles Grove, Patricia DeSalvo. Farewell to leaving senators: Elena Stuart, George Drake, and Lisa Kirschenbaum

• Executive Committee

Darla Spence Coffey was installed as corresponding secretary. The slate of officers was approved unanimously.

## Adjournment: