

The Internationalization Laboratory

The Internationalization Laboratory of the American Council on Education (ACE) is an invitational learning community that assists participating institutions in developing goals and strategy for comprehensive internationalization.

The CIGE Model for Comprehensive Internationalization



To promote the process approach, members of the Internationalization Laboratory:

- Form an internationalization leadership team on campus
- Review current institutional internationalization activities, clarify institutional goals, and analyze the findings of this review
- Develop a strategic action plan based on an analysis of the status of internationalization on campus and recommend future internationalization goals and strategies to achieve those goals
- Host a site visit by ACE staff, involving a roundtable discussion with the leadership team and key stakeholders to facilitate dialogue, define key questions and issues, clarify goals, and create support for the process across the campus
- Participate in three meetings of the Internationalization Laboratory, hosted by ACE in Washington, DC, to review progress, share experiences, and discuss possible next steps
- Host a peer review visit and receive a report following the review process
- Maintain regular contact with and receive guidance from ACE staff as the campus conducts its review, analyzes the findings, and develops its action plan

Benefits to institutions that join the Internationalization Laboratory include:

- The opportunity to participate in an international invitational learning community
- Regular access to expert consultation
- The opportunity to learn from the experiences of institutions with which ACE has worked on internationalization
- A customized process to accelerate progress on internationalization and ensure concrete outcomes and deliverables that the institution chooses

Additional work can be done in articulating international learning outcomes, mapping the curriculum and cocurriculum for opportunities to achieve these outcomes, and developing an assessment plan. A nonrefundable fee of \$34,000 is charged for this service, payable over two fiscal years.

For more information, please contact Robin Helms, director, Center for Internationalization and Global Engagement, at (202) 939-9408 or rhelms@acenet.edu.

The Internationalization Laboratory

Launched in 2003, the Internationalization Laboratory has included these institutions:

2003-04

California State University, Sacramento Fairleigh Dickinson University (NJ) Fordham Schools of Business (NY) Kalamazoo College (MI) Kansas State University

2004-05

Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis Juniata College (PA) Pacific Lutheran University (WA) Park University (MO) St. Mary's University (TX) University of South Florida University of Wisconsin-Madison

2005-06

Boise State University (ID) Northern Virginia Community College Pace University (NY) University of Denver

2006-07

Arcadia University (PA) College of Charleston (SC) New Mexico State University Park University (MO) University of Iowa

2007-08

Appalachian State University (NC) City University of Seattle Seton Hall University (NJ) The State University of New York College at Cortland University at Albany, State University of New York University of Kentucky University of Wisconsin-Stout Western Kentucky University

2008-09

Central Connecticut State University Pacific University (OR) Purdue University (IN) Saint Mary's College (IN) Temple University (PA) University of Colorado Boulder Western Michigan University

2009-10

CETYS Universidad, Baja California (Mexico) Drake University (IA) Inter American University-Metropolitan Campus (PR) Long Island University (NY) Marshall University (WV) Universidad del Este (PR) University of Tulsa (OK)

2010-11

Case Western Reserve University (OH) Richard Stockton College of New Jersey Shepherd University (WV) The University of North Carolina at Greensboro Universidad del Turabo (PR) University of Alaska Anchorage University of the Pacific (CA) Valparaiso University (IN)

2011-12

Fielding Graduate University (CA) Georgia Gwinnett College Monroe Community College (NY) Montana State University Universidad Metropolitana (PR) University of Wisconsin-River Falls University of Wyoming Webster University (MO)

2012-13

Becker College (MA) Grand Valley State University (MI) Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis Merrimack College (MA) Samford University (AL) Texas Christian University University of Minnesota Duluth Villanova University (PA) Virginia Commonwealth University

2013-14

California State University, Dominguez Hills Clemson University (SC) Emerson College (MA) Hawai'i, Leeward, and Windward Community Colleges (HI) Lewis University (IL) Orange Coast College (CA) Sacred Heart University (CT) The State University of New York College at



Geneseo

University of Alabama at Birmingham University of Massachusetts Amherst Western Washington University

2014-15

Dominican University (CA) Eastern Washington University Grinnell College (IA) Holy Spirit University of Kaslik (Lebanon) LIM College (NY) New Jersey City University Queens College CUNY (NY) Salem State University (MA) Southern University and A&M College (LA) University of Hawai'i System and at West Oahu and Hilo University of Maryland, College Park University of Montana University of North Dakota

2015-16

Brenau University (GA) Bridgewater State University (MA) California State University, Monterey Bay Fort Hays State University (KS) Hofstra University (NY) Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo Inter American University of Puerto Rico-San German LaGuardia Community College of the City University of New York McMurry University (TX) Miami University (OH) Northern Illinois University Salisbury University (MD) Syracuse University (NY)

2016-17

Central Michigan University Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Barranquitas Lehigh University (PA) Loyola University Maryland Missouri University of Science and Technology Mount Saint Mary's University (CA) Northeast Ohio Medical University Old Dominion University (VA) Southeast Missouri State University Universidad Antonio Nariño (Colombia) University of Nebraska Omaha