## Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education

Pennsylvania's universities spent their first 100 years of existence preparing teachers for the Commonwealth's schools. The Normal School Act of 1857 established regional teacher training institutions throughout Pennsylvania. The School Code of 1911 called for the state purchase of all normal schools, and by 1921, the present configuration of the 14 state-owned institutions was established. The normal schools evolved from state normal schools, to state teacher colleges, to state colleges. On November 12, 1982, Act 188 was signed into law establishing Pennsylvania's State System of Higher Education on July 1, 1983, including the 13 former state colleges and Indiana University of Pennsylvania.

Today, the State System of Higher Education comprises 14 universities, four branch campuses, the McKeever Environmental Learning Center, and Dixon University Center. The System's purpose, as outlined in Act 188, is "... to provide high quality education at the lowest possible cost to students." The System universities, located in rural, suburban, and small-town settings throughout Pennsylvania, educate more students per year than any other higher educational institution in the state.

For more information visit the System website at:

http://www.passhe.edu/Pages/default.aspx

小

**B.** 4